It's not just for hippies anymore.
You will need
- Vegetarian foods
- Omega-3 pills
- Milk substitutes with calcium
- A little willpower
Step 1 Examine your motives Think about why you want to become a vegetarian. Are you doing it for health reasons? Or is it just that you can’t bear eating any “food with a face”? People will ask, and you’ll want your answer prepared.
Step 2 Pick a vegetarian type Decide what kind of vegetarian you would like to be. A vegan gives up meat, poultry, fish, and all their by-products; lacto vegetarians eat dairy; and ovo-lacto vegetarians allow themselves dairy and eggs.
Step 3 Tell loved ones Tell your family and friends why you decided to become a vegetarian and ask them to respect your decision.
Step 4 Do research Start reading labels and asking questions at restaurants. That marinara sauce might have a base made with meat stock, and if you’re avoiding dairy, even potato chips, which contain whey, are off-limits.
Step 5 Be creative Think about all the yummy things you can eat, like nuts and nut butters, fruits, veggies, legumes, pasta, grains, tofu—and yogurt and cheese if you’re not vegan. Plus there are all kinds of spices and probably even foods you’ve never tried before.
Step 6 Take vitamins Buy a good multi-vitamin to supplement your diet and take omega-3 pills to replace the nutrients you would get from fish.
If you’re a vegan, drink milk substitutes enriched with calcium to maintain bone density.
Step 7 Get enough protein Make sure you get enough protein by incorporating plenty of beans, peas, lentils, nuts, seeds, and grains into your diet.
Did You Know:
Wine is not allowed on a vegan diet because animal by-products are used in the clarifying process.