How to Attain Liberation in Hinduism

Ever think being reincarnated as an ant could be a step toward liberation? For most Hindus the highest goal is moksha, when you are released from the cycles of rebirth and achieve unity with God.

You will need

  • Birth
  • A righteous life
  • Detachment
  • Death
  • Reincarnation
  • Patience

Step 1 Be born Be born.

Step 2 Live your life Live your life. If you are human, you have reached the highest state of self-consciousness. With that comes both freedom and responsibility.

Step 3 Live righteously Live righteously and strive to fulfill the Hindu dharma, or duties.

Step 4 Pursue spiritual path Pursue one of the four spiritual paths to realize God: knowledge; love and devotion; selfless action; and meditation.

Step 5 Detach yourself Gradually detach yourself from physical objects, desires, and stimuli. Only through release from self-interest can you reach liberation.

Step 6 Die Die.

Step 7 Be reincarnated Be reincarnated. Your soul, or true self, always remains the same even if your body doesn’t. You’ll probably pass through all six categories of life forms before breaking the cycle of samsara: aquatics, plants, reptiles and insects, birds, animals, and humans.

Step 8 Repeat steps Repeat the steps as necessary until you are liberated from samsara. It’s believed that eventually everyone will get there–and there’s no time limit.