- Step 1: Review your traditional recipes Review your traditional recipes with a pencil in hand, marking problematic ingredients. As you look at the recipes, consider whether you can substitute for -- or omit -- the things you can't eat.
- TIP: At first, try modifying recipes that contain very little flour or gluten-containing ingredients. You may be able to omit the flour without ruining the recipe.
- Step 2: Consider pasta dish substitutions Consider pasta dish substitutions. Gluten-free pasta made from brown rice is an option -- so are traditional Asian rice noodles.
- Step 3: Consider baked goods Know that you can still enjoy baked goods. Instead of wheat flour, use gluten-free flour substitutes like millet, soy, white or brown rice, tapioca, or garbanzo bean flour in your recipe.
- Step 4: Consider main courses Consider main courses. You can flour or bread meats with cornmeal, potato flakes, crushed potato chips, gluten-free cereal, or gluten-free bread crumbs.
- Step 5: Consider soups When making soups, instead of the gluten flour usually used to thicken soups, use cornstarch instead. Making sauces or gravies? Tapioca and tapioca starch can be used as gluten-free thickeners. So can arrowroot, cornstarch, and potato starch. Smooth gravies can be prepared with sweet rice flour. Now enjoy your favorite foods gluten-free.
- FACT: The first cookbook was published in Italy in 1474.
You Will Need
- Traditional recipes
- Pasta dish substitutions
- Baked good substitutions
- Main course substitutions
- Soup substititions
- And sauce and gravy substitutions