Skip to main content

Who Competes in the Softball World Series?

Learn who competes in the Softball World Series from softball coach Erin Goettlicher in this Howcast video.


I'm Erin Goettlicher, and I'm a professional softball coach. After I played through high school, I went out and played for college level, and then spent a cup of tea at the professional level. I'm self-employed, and own Pro Softball Training. Pro Softball Training offers instruction in all kinds of softball. You name it, we can do it. Today, I will be talking to you about softball. The softball world series is also known as the women's college world series. The women's college world series, are the top eight eight teams in the division 1 NCAA level. The first college world was played in 1982. Today the women's college world series is played in Oklahoma City, at ASA's Hall of Fame Stadium. It's one of the best venues in our nation playing fast pitch softball, has great seating, and a great atmosphere for our game. In order to become one of the eight teams to make it to the women's college world series, you have to make it through your season as one of the best teams in your conference, or by being an at large bid. The NCAA tournament starts at the amount of 64 teams. Those teams play in a regional tournament at 16 different sites, which host 4 teams at each site, double elimination tournament. If you're lucky enough to advance from the regionals you'll advance to the super regionals. The super regionals is narrowed all the way down to 16 teams. The site for those games is determined by the highest seed. Therefore there are eight different locations hosting the super regionals. Those two teams will square off with one another in a best of three series. The teams to come out on top give us our eight teams that will advance to Oklahoma City. Once in Oklahoma City it is considered a double elimination tournament for the majority of games. From that double elimination the top two teams remaining will go into the championship series. The championship series is comprised of the best of three series with the winner being crowned the women's college world series national champion.

Popular Categories