Skip to main content

What Are Gluten-Free Foods?

Learn about gluten-free foods from nutrition coach Lisa Neilsen in this Howcast video.


What are gluten-free foods? Gluten-free foods are recommended for people who have Celiac disease or sensitivities to wheat. The good news is that there are many gluten-free products now available in your supermarket. If you look at the pancakes, cookies, breads, you'll find a wide variety of gluten free products.

You can enjoy gluten-free products whether you have a condition that requires it or not. I personally feel, when I eat the gluten free grains, a little lighter than when I eat non gluten-free grains.

Here's a list--this is important--of gluten free foods and also foods to avoid. You need to avoid wheat, spelt and kamut, rye, oats, and modified food starch, barley enzymes, and soy sauce. The good news is that there are a lot of gluten-free foods that you can eat. You just need to know what they are. Potatoes, beans and buckwheat, nuts, corn, and eggs, rice, fresh fruit, and quinoa, herbs and spices, and 100% fruit juice. Even if you do need to follow a gluten-free diet, the good news is there are lots of choices out there for you to enjoy.

Popular Categories