Updated:
Original:

Gluten-Free Beer

Learn all about gluten-free beer from expert Katherine Kyle in this Howcast video.

Transcript

Gluten free beer is beer that is brewed with sorghum, buckwheat, or millet. Usually one of those three things, or a mixture, is what would be used in gluten free beer instead of the barely. And brewers do this to accommodate people who have a gluten intolerance. And it's a real challenge because the malted barely is such in integral part of beers. And if it's not malted barley it's probably wheat.

And I believe rye even has gluten in it too, so the brewers hands are really tied in terms of what they can use for that grain. But there have been a lot of advances and right now we're lucky because more and more gluten free beers are coming into the market all the time. There are quite a few that we serve. We serve the Green's brand, we serve the New Planet.

Dogfish Head has a great one, called Tweason'ale. And if you are gluten intolerant, it's not the wasteland of beer that it used to be. More and more beers and many different styles are starting to hit the shelves. So ask your retailer, ask your local craft beer bar, and you might be surprised to find out that there really are some options that can work for you.

Popular Categories