Individuals who suffer from celiac disease -- or gluten intolerance -- must maintain gluten-free diets. Here are some guidelines to keep in mind when you set out to purchase gluten-free foods.
- TIP: An iPhone app called _Is that Gluten-Free?_ provides users with information about gluten-free products or brands.
- Step 1: Learn to identify grains that are safe to eat. These include rice, rice flour, corn, corn flour, corn meal, millet, quinoa, acorn flour, and amaranth.
- FACT: Nearly 1 out of every 150 Americans suffer from celiac disease.
- Step 2: Look for a specialty section of only gluten-free foods at your grocer. Stores often group gluten-free items together to make it easier for gluten-free shoppers.
- Step 3: Be on the lookout for hidden gluten. Many foods, like soy sauce and other sauces, are processed with grains, even though they might at first appear to be gluten-free. Choose spices that do not have flour fillers, and check that meat flavorings are gluten-free.
- Step 4: Read food labels carefully. Don't buy foods that contain grains that contain gluten. These include barley, spelt, rye, and wheat.
- TIP: Ask your doctor for a full list of foods to avoid.
- : Never change your diet without first consulting your doctor.